Tomb Kings Necrosphinx

Before 2015 comes to an end, I decided to clean up my desk a bit. I had built and undercoated this little fella sometime in summer, while rebasing all my existing Tomb Kings. Somehow, though, I never started painting him. It’s certainly a fantastic kit, probably the best one in the Tomb King range. Unfortunately, I glued on the wings before painting, even though it should have been obvious that it’s going to be a bad idea. Because I painted most of my TKs 10+ years ago, I didn’t have to worry about the best possible paintjob, otherwise he would have looked out of place too much 🙂

Painting took me a whole day, from morning to evening, with only a little break for lunch. It was really exhausting, but listening to a few AoS podcasts helped a lot. There’s only one more unbuilt TK model in my stash at the moment, the new Arkhan. Maybe I’ll do that in January, with the start of a small AoS campaign 🙂

20151228_necrosphinx

One response to “Tomb Kings Necrosphinx

  1. While I don’t like the concept of this model (just too many skulls, even for undead), your paintjob really elevates it and makes it a beautiful centre piece on the table. The metal is excellent and the green veins on the dark skin really work well. The colour composition is beautiful and really has this Egyptian vibe for me.

Leave a Reply

